<b>Joanna Stepien</b><br>

Joanna Stepien

Yoga is more than just a stretch

Yoga is more than just a physical practice. It is a philosophy that encompasses all aspects of life. The ancient sage Patanjali laid out the eight limbs of yoga, which are a guide to living a meaningful and fulfilling life. In this article, we will explore the eight limbs of yoga, the philosophy behind them, and how you can learn traditional yoga from the source and become an authentic yoga teacher!

The eight limbs of yoga provide a framework for living a meaningful and fulfilling life, and here’s how they relate to topics in the modern world

1. Yama 

The first limb of yoga emphasizes ethical principles, such as non-violence, truthfulness, and self-control. In the modern world, we can apply these principles by practicing kindness and compassion towards others, speaking truthfully and authentically, and practicing self-discipline in our daily lives.

 2. Niyama

The second limb of yoga focuses on self-discipline and includes practices such as cleanliness, contentment, and devotion. We use these guidelines by maintaining a clean and healthy living space, practicing gratitude and finding joy in the present moment, and cultivating a spiritual practice that brings us closer to our higher selves.

3. Asana

The third limb of yoga is the physical practice of yoga postures, which help improve physical health and well-being. We can use asana practice to improve our posture, increase our flexibility and strength, and reduce stress and anxiety.

  4. Pranayama
The fourth limb of yoga focuses on breath control, which helps calm the mind and balance the body. In the modern world, we can use pranayama techniques such as deep breathing to reduce stress, increase focus and concentration, and improve sleep patterns.

  5. Pratyahara

The fifth limb of yoga is the withdrawal of the senses from external distractions to focus inward. In the busy Western world, we can practice this principle to unplug technology and other distractions and create space for quiet contemplation and reflection.

 6. Dharana

The sixth limb of yoga is concentration, which involves focusing the mind on a single object or thought. We can work on this principle to improve our productivity and focus at work, school, or in other areas of our lives by using meditation as a daily practice or simply chanting mantras.

  7. Dhyana

The seventh limb of yoga is meditation, which involves deep contemplation and reflection. In the modern world, we can meditate to reduce stress and anxiety, improve our mental clarity and focus, and cultivate a sense of inner peace and calm.

   8. Samadhi

The final limb of yoga is the state of pure consciousness and union with the divine. In our modern world, we can use this guideline to focus our practices on connecting with our true and authentic selves and our higher purpose, finding meaning and fulfillment in our lives.

If you want to learn traditional yoga from the source, then joining our upcoming Yoga Teacher Training is the perfect place for you. Our program offers authentic yoga classes taught by experienced and knowledgeable instructors. We also offer a variety of classes, including asana, pranayama, meditation, and philosophy, so you can explore all eight limbs of yoga with us!

If you are ready to embark on a journey of self-discovery and inner peace, then consider joining us in Goa, Greece, or Ireland. Our program and classes will help you cultivate a deeper understanding of yoga philosophy and guide you in developing a consistent and fulfilling yoga practice. Don’t wait any longer; start your journey to become an authentic yoga teacher today! 


Share this post